Product Review: Kettle & Fire Beef Bone Broth

I’m taking a little detour from the Anxiety Tour to do a product review.

((For the record, I guess I’d call myself a Kind-Of Paleo eater, and sometimes even AIP (Auto-Immune Protocol) eater because of my strange medical/auto-immune issues. I was slowly taking away each potentially bad food group at a time. First came the processed sugar, then the gluten, then the dairy, then the nightshades, and then after a couple of months…I got stuck. I became sick of revolving my life around food, never being able to grab anything convenient, having to pack a ton of food every time I went to my boyfriend’s house because I couldn’t eat what he was eating, going to the grocery store constantly, not being able to eat out, cooking all the time instead of living and enjoying my life, and feeling guilty and like failure. I even broke down and cried in a grocery store because there was not ONE thing I could eat in the snack aisle. 

Stress can make auto-immune issues (and everything else) worse even if you’re eating “perfectly” (and I wasn’t even there yet), so I decided to ease up on the food restrictions and focus more on my mind-body connection. This could change one day in the future, but for now this is where I am, and I am much happier.

So anyway, if you see food product reviews or recipes, chances are they will be “Paleo-ish”. Now that that’s out-of-the-way, let’s move on.))

Bone broth, although it sounds disgusting, has really become trendy lately because of its numerous health benefits (although some form of it has been eaten all over the world for centuries). A great article on all of those benefits can be found here.

Organic, homemade bone broth is best of course, but ain’t nobody got time for that. And besides, I don’t think my roommate would appreciate smelling soup/bones cooking for days.

I heard about Kettle & Fire’s Bone Broth and I wanted to try it so badly (while simultaneously realizing how strange I’ve become), but I didn’t purchase it because of the hefty price tag. So you can imagine how thrilled I was when I learned Thrive Market was giving it away for free (as long as I remembered to cancel the membership in time).

I didn’t read the fine print, so when the package arrived, I was pretty disappointed.It was only 17.6 ounces (a little over a pound, or 500 grams). This surprised me, because the last time I pulled a Thrive Market scheme I got a normal-sized jar of organic coconut oil.

That wasn’t nearly enough to make a meal out of, so I just heated it up plain and ate it. The consistency was a more watery than I expected, but the flavor of it was quite, quite good and satisfying. I would love to make a soup or something out of it. But, I’m only giving this one 2 out of 5 stars because of the price. On Amazon, a size smaller than the one I received is nearly $12 (!!!). I get that it’s organic, and has been simmered for 20 hours, but there’s got to be a way that they can make this less expensive for people.

I would buy it – if I won the lottery.

** 

One thought on “Product Review: Kettle & Fire Beef Bone Broth

Leave a comment